Blog post #24 – April 9, 2017 Open Space

Do you like getting outside, especially when the weather gets warmer? Check out this week’s blog post about open spaces, and claiming your space. #sundaymorningcuddle #sundaymorningcuddlewordpress

Blog post #24 – April 9, 2017

Open Space

Good morning, Cuddlers!

As the weather starts to warm up again here in the Midwest, people and pets are re-discovering the joy of being outside. I love seeing the dogs running around in the park near my apartment. Their body language says it all – “Yay! I get to run around and see my friends!” No more of the quick walks because it’s 20-below outside. The dogs and their humans definitely enjoy the chance to run around in the park. Sometimes, it seems, like the dogs want to get chased by their human just so they can stay in the park a little longer.

The other day I bought a new area rug. It took a while to get the living room back together again because the cats kept playing on the new rug like it was a toy. They were “attacking” the little colored spots, rolling on their back, and looking at me with gratitude for the new toy and open space. Reggie and Abby had a game of tag going as they ran around the living room, but the middle of the area rug seemed to be home base. It was funny, but I had to warn them that the coffee table was going to be returned to the space.

IMG_7261
The cats “playing” with the new rug. (Striker just jumped out of the shot as I took the picture.)
IMG_7262
Otis claimed his spot on the new area rug.
IMG_7263
Abby was busy playing with the rug and the bumps in the rug.
IMG_7264
Reggie, after playing tag with Abby for about 20 minutes.

Between the dogs running in the park, and my cats claiming the space of the new rug, it made me miss being at my grandparents’ house during spring break. All growing up, we spent our spring break at grandma and grandpa’s house in the country. I, of course, loved visiting my grandparents, but I also loved getting out of the city for a week and having the feeling of space and freedom. It was nice to walk outside and only see tall trees instead of tall buildings. Or, at night seeing the light of the moon and a million stars, rather than the street lights and maybe one or two stars. I just love that feeling of stretching out and having a lot of space.

Sometimes I’ll go over to Lake Michigan and pretend that there aren’t a ton of high-rises behind me with a million + residents vying for space. I love city living, but I sure do love those moments when I get to claim some open space…even if it’s just for a moment.

Enjoy the cuddle!

2 thoughts on “Blog post #24 – April 9, 2017 Open Space

  1. Iowa has lots of trees, stars and open space. I will be there mid-may through mid-september, so feel free to come and run with the dogs and pet the cats and play in the garden or just lie in the grass – although you might get a friendly dog nose in your face if you lie for long.

    Love, Aunt Karen

    ________________________________

    Like

Leave a Reply

