Blog post #21 – March 12, 2017 Daylight Savings Time

Good morning, Cuddlers!

Daylight Savings Time. Humph. I don’t know about you, but this is the tough one for me. Losing the hour of sleep when we

jump ahead an hour, really has an impact on my mood. I have a feeling that it’s more mental than anything. The idea that I’ll lose an hour of sleep is only resolved in the fall when we gain that hour back. Still, it’s a tough couple of days getting used to losing this hour.

When I was younger our cats ate every day at 5pm, so the time change really messed up their schedule both times. In the fall they started meowing in desperate at my mom because they were convinced that she forgot how to tell time. “Mom! It’s 5:00! Feed us!” Misty and Peanut didn’t understand that it was only 4:00. Then, the first week of Daylight Savings Time was such a treat because it was as if they were getting fed an hour early.

IMG_7158
Misty and Peanut sleeping on their usual spot on top of the refrigerator. (mid-1970’s)
IMG_7159
Misty playing outside. (mid-1970’s)

I remember seeing a report on the news about how the time change also impacts farm animals. The farmers in the story spoke about their strict schedule, and how the time change was upsetting to some of their animals. The story brought up the question about why we continue to have the time change twice a year since we aren’t the agrarian society we once were. Who knows if this will change in the near future? All I know is that I will be struggling a bit this week, and the cats will be really confused with the morning alarm and feeding times this week, too.

Quick Striker update: A few weeks ago I honestly thought (and so did the vet) that Striker only had weeks to live. Well, it appears that he has bounced back a bit. You wouldn’t believe how much he is eating, drinking, purring and jumping around. Striker definitely seems like his old self and is a happy cat. He did develop some allergies, which has caused excess scratching. I took Striker to the vet for a follow-up and a shot for his allergies. He gained an ounce, but his kidney levels are still high. Regardless, I feel like the prayers and happy thoughts have given me more time with my sweet little Striker. We appreciate it very much!

img_6942
Striker relaxing and purring.

Enjoy the cuddle!

Leave a Reply

