Blog post #20 – March 5, 2017 Bedtime Routine

Good morning, Cuddlers!

Around 9:30pm I start the bedtime routine. And, around 9:30pm every night Abby gets into “chase me” mode. It took me a few days to figure this out, but she will come to the door of the bedroom and twist her body a certain way as if to say, “Come on…chase me!” So, I chase her, she hides, and I always pretend I don’t see her. Then, I go back into the bedroom and she does this all over again. We do this for about ten minutes, which is a great way for Abby to work out her pre-bedtime energy.

My parents’ cat is busy every night with trying to get them to bed. Lola has a routine of first getting my dad to bed, and then a few hours later, she meows at my mom to go to bed. She walks them upstairs and can finally have a restful sleep on her spot when they’re both asleep.

What is your routine? Do you have a cat or dog that knows when it’s time for bed? On Facebook, a friend of mine often posts pictures of her two dogs sprawled out on the bed with no room for her. It’s funny that our pets are insistent about bedtime (sometimes), but then might be in the habit of taking over our bed. I often think that my cats don’t realize that I can’t curl up into a tiny ball like they can.

When you fall asleep tonight, I hope it’s restful and might include a cuddle from a cute cat or dog.

Enjoy the cuddle!

img_6943
Striker in his favorite cuddled-up sleep position.
img_7101-1
Striker and Abby taking an afternoon nap.
img_7102
Otis and Reggie taking an afternoon nap.
4 thoughts on “Blog post #20 – March 5, 2017 Bedtime Routine

Leave a Reply

