Blog post #13 – January 15, 2017 Happy New Year!

The magic of Disney and hope for 2017…

Good morning, Cuddlers!

We’re already two weeks into 2017, so I hope the year is off to a good start for everyone. I also hope everyone had some quality “cuddle time” over the holidays – time to relax, time with family, time with your fur babies (or a friend’s fur baby), or time to do whatever you wanted.

I entered 2017 cuddling with the cats and Abby looking shocked when I yelled, “Happy New Year!” I also had a shocked look on my face, but that was because of Mariah Carey’s debacle on Dick Clark’s Rockin’ Eve show. (That’s a post for a different day.)

I intended to send the first 2017 post from Disney World last week as I ran in my second Dopey Challenge. That’s the challenge accepted by about 10,000 runners to complete the 5k, 10k, half-marathon, and full marathon over the course of four days. In addition to the running, my sister and I spent a few days walking around the parks at Disney World, which totaled about another 26+ miles. Needless to say, we were tired!

If you can believe it, there is something “cuddly” about Mickey Mouse. One of the benefits of running in a Disney race is that they have various Disney characters along the race course. Where else can you go for a run and take a picture with Goofy, Donald Duck, and Mickey Mouse dressed up in patriotic gear? Or, where can you stop for a quick picture with the Genie from Aladdin and feel like you do have the power of Genie in your corner? Seeing a life size version of Winnie the Pooh & Tigger brought back a whirlwind of childhood memories. From being so proud that Winnie the Pooh was my favorite character, to loving the stuffed Winnie the Pooh that I’m sure my grandparents gave me (along with a few Winnie the Pooh books). The memories of Disney characters can’t help but bring a smile to your heart.

Disney knows how to make you feel like all of your troubles are somewhere pretty far away, as you focus on the “magic” and the possibilities of your dreams. What a great feeling of comfort! Who knows how this year will unfold. Who knows what challenges or joys will come our way. I do hope that we can all remind each other of the hope and possibility of the days to come…we just have to be ready for it. If Walt Disney can believe, I can believe, too.

Enjoy the cuddle!

diana-and-paula-with-goofy-donald-and-mickey-at-disney-world-2017
Diana and Paula with Goofy, Donald Duck and Mickey Mouse at Disney World 2017.
paula-and-diana-with-winnie-the-pooh-and-tigger-at-disney-world-2017
Paula and Diana with Winnie the Pooh and Tigger at Disney World 2017.
diana-and-paula-with-minnie-mouse-and-pluto-at-disney-world-2017
Diana and Paula with Minnie Mouse and Pluto. Enjoying the festive race environment at ESPN at Disney World.

 

Leave a Reply

