Blog post #12 – December 18, 2016 Cuddle & Joy

Good morning, Cuddlers!

As in the midst of a cold snap and weather pattern of snow in Chicago, I can’t help but notice how my cats seem extra cuddly. Even though my cats are indoor cats, it seems like they know that it’s time to hunker down and hibernate. I guess the hibernation instinct is in all animals, right? Regardless, it has been nice to see the cats cuddling with each other (even if it’s for 5 minutes), cuddle in the blankets, and cuddle under the Christmas Tree. This extra “cuddle” time has brought me joy (and extra moments of peace around here).

The way Reggie was cuddling with me on the couch reminded me of the way the cats and dog would cuddle when I was growing up. When we had two cats, Misty and Peanut would sleep in a box on top of the refrigerator. They loved the heat coming up from the refrigerator. I also think they loved being so high up. When we were a house of six cats and a dog, the cats had a few phases of sleeping on the couches with whatever human they could nab, or sleeping upstairs where it was warmer. Our dog always found a comfy place to sleep, too. Sometimes Bobbi would even cuddle with the cats. I can see them all now just cuddling up together on my bed.

I also love seeing little kids all bundled up when they’re outside. It’s the classic snowsuit-I-can’t-move type of bundle that makes me chuckle every time. The kids don’t seem to mind, though, because they just want to play in the snow. Cold doesn’t seem to bother the little ones when their focus is making that perfect snowman or snow angels. Being all bundled up and playing in the snow certainly brings kids a lot of joy, especially with the promise of hot chocolate when they go inside.

Wherever you are during this Holiday Season, I hope that you are extra comfy. I guess if you’re a “cuddler” from Florida, having your feet in the sand is your definition of comfort! I wish all of my readers a Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukah, or Happy Kwanza! I’ll be off next Sunday since it’s Christmas, but I’ll be thinking of something fun to start 2017!

Enjoy the cuddle!

2 thoughts on “Blog post #12 – December 18, 2016 Cuddle & Joy

  1. Speaking of little kids not feeling cold…When we were stationed in Japan (at the northern tip of the big island), it snowed A LOT and was very cold in the winter. One day, my secretary came in with a bemused look and told us that she and her husband had made the decision to send their daughter to Japanese preschool for the experience. So, that morning, she took her daughter – bundled up like you described – to the bus stop, only to see the Japanese children there in down jackets and shorts! When she asked one of the mothers if her child wasn’t cold, the woman looked at her strangely and said, very matter-of-factly, “Children’s legs don’t get cold.” Who knew?

    ________________________________

    Like

    1. Really? I can’t imagine that children’s legs don’t get cold. That’s so funny to me! This is a great story, though. I can also imagine your reaction to her comment. Thanks for sharing!

      Like

Leave a Reply

