Blog post #8 – November 20, 2016 Resting and Writing

Good morning, Cuddlers!

We’re entering that time of year when friends and families will get together, decorations will adorn the house, and shopping will seem endless. I love this time of year and the memories of Thanksgiving, my birthday, Christmas, and New Year’s Eve. I do hope everyone is able to soak in the good moments this time of year brings.

One reason November has been an interesting month for me is that I’m participating in the National Novel Writing Month. NaNoWriMo is a nonprofit that focuses on writing programs, and has special events for November’s National Novel Writing Month. I finally decided to take on the challenge! There have been days that I’ve said to myself, “Ugh…I’d rather run a marathon right now.” And, there have been some writing sessions when the words were just flowing through my fingers (thank goodness). The goal is to get to 50,000 words by November 30th , which I must admit seems tough to reach at this point.

The countless hours spent writing (and staring at the computer) have been a challenge for my cats. Striker hasn’t had much lap time, and probably secretly hates my laptop. Abby hasn’t had as many cat dancer toy breaks. And, Otis and Reggie just get the quick pats on the head when I’m intently working.

smc-nov-20-striker
Striker hasn’t had much lap time recently, but he does enjoy his favorite comforter.

One day I noticed Abby sitting on the purple chair with a look on her face like, “Sigh…all this work you’re doing is making me tired.” A little later that evening my sister sent a text with a picture of her cat exhausted from all the knitting my sister was doing.

I also had this image of two of my grandparents’ dogs sitting in the field to watch my grandpa walk his 2 miles on the path from the house to the woods. The dogs were so tired watching grandpa get his walk in each day. It’s exhausting for our pets to watch us work!

Whatever your “work” is in the coming week, I definitely hope you have time to rest! Take a page from our fur babies…they will tell you in a heartbeat to get comfortable on the couch…and cuddle!

Enjoy the cuddle!

Leave a Reply

