Blog post #6 – November 6, 2016 Historic Victories

Good morning, Cuddlers!

I can’t let this this week go by without recognizing the historic World Series win of the Chicago Cubs. Wednesday night was full of excitement, anxiety, emotional highs and lows, and a feeling of relief. When the 7th game of the World Series started I found that I was able to remain calm. It seemed inevitable that the Cubs would win and the 108-year old drought would be erased…finally.

That is…until the Cleveland Indians tied the game in the 8th inning. Right before that, I’ll admit, I started to get super anxious so I sorted my laundry. I had to do something to calm my nerves and channel my excited energy. Playing with Abby and her cat dancer helped a little, but not enough to get rid of all my energy.

When it seemed like the Cubs would once again be the “loveable losers,” I couldn’t help but get a little jealous of Otis, Reggie, and Striker. While I was pacing, shaking my head and yelling “Oh no…come on Cubs!” the boys were sleeping (Abby was playing with her toy mouse). They didn’t care who won the World Series. They just wanted me to turn off the light and get to sleep.

Do animals care about being victorious? I thought about this for 2 minutes before I realized that the answer is “yes!” When they’re out hunting, they care whether or not they capture their prey. I thought about how one of my grandparents’ dogs would bring (warning…gross comment ahead) one of his deer carcasses to my car when I would visit. One time grandma and grandpa didn’t realize that I pulled into the driveway, so I had to call them to help me get out of the car. Dune was super excited to show me his prize, his victory of the hunt, and I just wanted to get away from the carcass.

I guess animals do care about winning. How many stories do we all have of our cats and dogs that bring us their “prize” from the hunt? “Look mom! I caught this mouse!” “Look dad! I caught this squirrel for you!”  And, they get upset when the rabbit gets away, or that pesky squirrel races up the tree. (It’s so funny to see the look on a dog’s face when they can’t figure out what happened to the squirrel!) But, oh how lucky our pets are not to care about a sports team winning or losing the championship.

Enjoy the cuddle! (…and for the Cubs fans…enjoy the Cubs World Championship status!)

Leave a Reply

