First blog post

This blog is a chance to blend a few of my loves: writing, observing life, and animals. The entries will focus on the often humorous comparisons I see between our pets and our own lives. The “cuddles” will be brief…an “affectionate hug” for your Sunday mornings.

Welcome to the Sunday Morning Cuddle!

Google defines the word “cuddle” as a verb – hold close in one’s arms as a way of showing love or affection, and as a noun – a prolonged and affectionate hug. About three years ago I noticed that two of my cats seemed to appreciate the more relaxed version of me on a typical Sunday morning. After the initial 5am wake-up to feed the cats, they all got back into bed and had that extra special purr going. I found myself saying to the cats, “It’s time for the Sunday morning cuddle!” Little did I realize that would be the name of my blog.

My whole life I’ve enjoyed writing. Whether it was keeping a journal, writing letters to friends (pre-computer and email days), or the occasional creative writing assignment in school, I always knew that writing would be a part of my life. Actually, full disclosure, my college freshman writing class was a bit demoralizing, but we won’t talk about that here.

This blog is a chance to blend a few of my loves: writing, observing life, and animals. The entries will focus on the often humorous comparisons I see between our pets and our own lives. The “cuddles” will be brief…an “affectionate hug” for your Sunday mornings. Hopefully, we’ll offer some thoughts before you hop out of bed and as you begin the week ahead.

And, what better time than to begin the Sunday Morning Cuddle than in October? Here in the Midwest we’re starting to feel the chill of fall in the air and thinking about cuddling up in our most comfortable blanket…perhaps with a dog or cat nestled in, as well.

Enjoy the cuddle!

10 thoughts on “First blog post

  1. Can’t wait to hear about your loving kitties and their antics through the week. Thank you for including me on your blog.

    Like

Leave a Reply

